n00bfest.com
Home Forum phpBB3 Shoutbox Servers Teamspeak Admins Donate FAQ
Stats Contact Us!

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri May 03, 2024 12:44 am

Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
 Need help finding a computer on a low budget. 
Forum Newbie

Post Need help finding a computer on a low budget.
Hi everyone. I've been computer-less for about a month, due to my hard drive dying, stuck sharing a piece of shit Compaq. I'm looking for a new computer because my old one is a few years old, and it's a shitty Acer laptop, so worry everything else will break soon. I'm looking for a desktop in the $300-$500ish range, so I can get back on CSS and play LoL with decent framerates.

I've been looking into the customizable PCs, like HP/Costco has, and I have a few questions. I'm a programmer but I, embarrassingly, don't know shit about hardware, so some answers to generally understand what to look for would be great.

This HP Computer

1. Regarding processors, what's the difference between 2.6ghz and 2.7ghz? I remember my old comp was 1.8ghz, and it was pretty slow, does the small number difference make a noticeable difference to warrant $30 extra?

2. Regarding memory, what is the difference between 1 and 2 DIMMs?

3. Regarding the graphics card; if I were to get an integrated card to start with, could I upgrade it later, or am I stuck with an integrated?

4. Do game framerates depend on both computer resources (processor speed, RAM) and the graphics card, or just the graphics card? With 1.8ghz, 3 gig ram, and Intel Media Accelerator gfx card, my framerates on CSS would go up and down from 5 to 100 constantly, making playing difficult.

Does anyone have any better customization services or computers that are in the price range and decent? I'd like to refrain from building a computer considering my lack of hardware knowledge and budget, which I hope to resolve both soon.

Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

Sat Jan 14, 2012 12:59 am