n00bfest.com
Home Forum phpBB3 Shoutbox Servers Teamspeak Admins Donate FAQ
Stats Contact Us!

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:03 am

Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Questions for Linux gurus 
[n00b] Member

Post Questions for Linux gurus
Since a friend gave me her laptop to buy a new one, I decided to have a little fun with Linux. I installed ubuntu 12.04 LTS and it works like a charm. Now, I just want to try to install Chrome OS on it, but I've encountered some difficulties so far. I'm trying to install the Vanilla build made by hexxeh. Problem is, even though I create a good bootable usb drive, I keep having the "Not enough memory to load specified image" error.

Now, I know it literally means that I don't have enough memory in my computer. My question remains: is it possible to by-pass that? Do you know of a way to force install the OS without having to add external memory to the laptop? I'm no pro of Linux little secrets, but I know my way into some useful terminal commands. But please be as clear as you can.

My laptop is a quite old Gateway running on Intel Atom N450, 1 GB memory, 250 GB HDD.

Thu Dec 19, 2013 10:17 am
Game Server Admin

Post Re: Questions for Linux gurus
There might be a boot flag that you can pass in for low memory systems. But if you need that the system might run like shit if you try to do anything.

Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:57 pm
[n00b] Member

Yeah that wasn't a good idea to bypass it in the end. It [obviously] ended by just running slow as F*CK.